The Northeastern NY round of the second annual eSchoolData Login Page Art Contest was a resounding success, with almost three dozen entries received.  The contest runs regionally in NY over the course of the school year, to promote as much student participation as possible. The Northeastern NY contest round was held first, and will be followed by the Hudson Valley, New York City/Long Island, and Western NY contest rounds.

Participating Northeastern NY districts’ entries were accepted from September through October 2015, with the finalists selected by the Northeastern Regional Information Center. After careful consideration, the voting committee selected the First and Third Place winners below:

First Place (tie) – Emily Aucompaugh (Schalmont Central School District)
First Place (tie) – Hannah Pitcavage (Mayfield Central School District)
Third Place – Sarosh Haider (Mayfield Central School District)

The following students were awarded Honorable Mention:

Lisa Kiszka (Mayfield Central School District)
Jamie Mault (Mayfield Central School District)
Emily McGowty (Schalmont Central School District)
Emily Wheeler (Fort Ann Central School District)

Contestants are required to submit works of art that focus on a specific theme relative to current educational topics. This year’s theme is Art in STEM, and challenges students to illustrate how Art is integral to the STEM subjects:  how the principles and aesthetics of Art are incorporated into and reflected in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math.

Emily’s first place entry “Beautiful Science” will appear as the background image on the eSchoolData login page, and the eSD Parent Portal and Student Portal login pages, with the release of version 4.8 in January 2016. Hannah’s first place entry “The Sacandaga” will follow as the background image for version 4.9, to be released in Spring 2016. All winning submissions are published on the eSchoolData website at:

eSD created the art contest as a unique way to give back to school districts and the surrounding community, by promoting local art and providing monetary awards for the winning entries. It also helps students build up their art portfolio, and allows the winners to claim publishing credit for their work when applying to art schools after graduation.

First Place (tie): Emly Aucompaugh

First Place (tie): Emly Aucompaugh

1-Pitcavage login

First Place (tie) – Hannah Pitcavage

3-Haider login cropped

Third Place – Sarosh Haider