The third annual eSchoolData Login Page Art Contest was a resounding success, with almost three dozen entries received from the Downstate NY region.  The contest runs in NY each school year, with prizes awarded regionally to promote as much student participation as possible. The Western NY region’s prizes were awarded first this year, then Downstate NY region’s prizes, and will be followed by the Northeastern NY regional awards.

Participating districts’ entries were accepted from December 2016 through January 2017, with the finalists selected by various Regional Information Centers.  This year, the Downstate NY winners were decided by attendees at eSchoolData’s Annual User Conference held in late April in Saratoga, NY.

First Place – Thomas Raggio (Sewanhaka Central High School District)
Second Place – Jennifer Gill (Sewanhaka Central High School District)
Third Place (tie) – Ryan Bosque (Sewanhaka Central High School District)
Third Place (tie) – Sylwia Sakowski (Lindenhurst School District)

The following students were awarded Honorable Mention:

Zofia Gornicz (Sewanhaka Central High School District)
Emily Villani (Sewanhaka Central High School District)

Contestants are required to submit works of art that focused on a specific theme relative to current educational topics.  This year’s theme is Art in STEM, and challenges students to illustrate how Art is integral to the STEM subjects:  how the principles and aesthetics of Art are incorporated into and reflected in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math.

The first place winner’s entry will appear as the background image on the eSchoolData login page (, and the eSD Parent Portal and Student Portal login pages, with the release of version 5.4 in June 2017, until the next regional winner is announced. All winning submissions are published on the eSchoolData website (

eSD created the art contest as a unique way to give back to school districts and the surrounding community, by promoting local art and providing monetary awards for the winning entries. It also helps students build up their art portfolio, and allows the winners to claim publishing credit for their work when applying to art schools after graduation.

First Place: Thomas Raggio

Second Place: Jennifer Gill

Third Place (tie): Ryan Bosque

Third Place (tie): Sylwia Sakowski